View Gallery

The Burnt City

Available in




This is the second novel in Marshall Browne’s wonderful trilogy about Melbourne towards the end of the nineteenth century. It describes the crash of 1893, and the frustrating attempts by a young liquidator to find justice for some of the victims of the financial crimes that helped produce the disaster.

The other novels in the trilogy are The Gilded Cage and The Trumpeting Angel.

Marshall Browne lives in Toorak, and is a former international banker. He also writes crime novels, including The Wooden Leg of Inspector Anders and The Eye of the Abyss (both available from Duffy & Snellgrove).

Customer Reviews

Related Products